• Home /
  • Blog / ACSMA Healthcare Champion Awards

ACSMA Healthcare Champion Awards

_DSC7820.jpgI hosted the AntiCoagulation Self-Monitoring Alliance (ACSMA) first Patient Choice Awards in Parliament on 25th June. The event celebrated the work of dedicated health professionals in the NHS who have helped people on long-term warfarin treatment to monitor their own blood clotting level.

Earlier this year, ACSMA invited their network of members to nominate their top health professionals across the UK. The response was overwhelming. ACSMA received nominations from patients for specialist nurses, GPs and hospital consultants who are regarded as having gone above and beyond the call of duty to their patients.

ACSMA comprises four of the UK’s leading charities and patient groups – AntiCoagulation Europe; the Children’s Heart Federation; the AF Association and the Mechanical Heart Valve Support Group. The healthcare company Roche is also part of the alliance. It was set up to campaign for patients on long-term warfarin to have greater access to self-monitoring technology on prescription.  Self-monitoring devices are a safe, convenient and accurate way to provide a blood clotting level – it takes less than a minute to complete.  

I am delighted to have hosted the Patient Choice Awards for all the hard work people have done for patients to promote and support self-monitoring. Self-monitoring devices are a win-win situation; a win for the NHS as it will help them to reduce potentially life threatening numbers of stroke and save money, and a win for the patient as it increases their independence and encourages empowerment to control their long-term health condition.


Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

The Labour Party will place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better.

Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site.

To find out more about these cookies, see our privacy notice. Use of this site confirms your acceptance of these cookies.